DrLupo plans to raise $2 million for St Jude in a charity livestream marathon

[quads id=10]

One of Twitch’s biggest streamers has plans for a massive charity event to close out the year. Benjamin ‘DrLupo’ Lupo raised $600,000 for St Jude Children’s Research Hospital last year, and he’s going even bigger in 2019 with a 24-hour stream that aims to bring in $2 million for the institute.

DrLupo’s St Jude Charity stream starts at 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 GMT on December 21, in partnership with St Jude’s Play Live initiative. Ahead of that date, Lupo has been visiting the hospital and its young patients. As Rick Shadyac, CEO of St Jude’s fundraising group, tells The Washington Post, “He knows the kids. He knows their stories. He knows what we do.”

“I’m just another guy that likes to play video games and got put in a position where I could use this platform to do good in the world,” Lupo says. “And so I’ve kind of jumped on board with that as much as I can.”

Play Live is a coordinated charity stream effort, similar to Extra Life, but it specifically benefits St Jude. It’s brought in over $20 million since its inception in 2014, and Lupo’s stream is poised to bring that number even higher.

Source link
[quads id=10]

Add Comment